Minecraft: The Story of Mojang (2012)

Minecraftthestoryofmojangposter

I recently said on twitter that I saw the Minecraft documentary by 2 Player Productions and that I liked it. Like always, it’s not the full story. As much as I liked it, it reminded me on how much most modern so called documentaries are merely docu-tainment and not critical analysis. You get a feel-good story that tells the riveting and ages-old rags-to-riches story. You get a few of the key players, Mojangs rise to fame, the contribution of the fandom and some of the fears that Notch and others on his team have.

What’s missing is a wider perspective, the clear copycat games, the inspired games, the development of the video games industry along those years (which has seen massive changes since then and is still is changing with every year) and any attempt to find the skeletons in the closet. Like I said, it’s a feel-good narrative, something where it and many of its modern docu-tainment brothers succeed, but entirely lacking of some deeper insight or depth you would have expected in an old-school documentary.