Buffy the Vampire Slayer S1 (1997)

I’ve planned to rewatch all of Buffy for some time, mostly because I never managed to watch the seventh season, but after nearly a decade since my last watch I didn’t just wanted to start with that season cold. So, the first thing I noticed upon rewatching was just what an asshole Xander was. I remember him being annoying, but not to such an extreme. What the hell happened there? I don’t want every of the good guys to be perfect, but he was like the creepy, abusive stepparent from hell, yet nobody realized just what a sick and creepy fuck he really was. Hopefully that gets better in the next few season, since it’s really weirding me out.

The season followed a monster-of-the-week formula, mixed with an overall arc about the master (some big, bad, cliched oldschool master vampire). Probably the weakest season of the whole show, though I actually liked the master and seeing him die so soon was a little bit disappointing. But you really could see the show trying to find its themes and dynamics. Everything was still a little bit rough and uneven. Watchable but far from great.