BattleTech: The Crescent Hawk’s Inception (1988)

cover battletechinception

One of the first cRPGs I played. Got stuck in the last room due to my low budget version not having the hints to solve the copy protection (not even making clear it was copy protection). Solved it many years later, thanks to me still having my old save game.

At the time I was heavily into Battletech and was a bit disappointed that the plot was limited to only one world and didn’t had planet hopping and conspiracies involving the different houses. But even as local as it was, it managed to be fun. You worked yourself up from a one man party with no weapons to a fully stuffed party with each member having his own mech. The battle system was excellent (round based) and the core of the gameplay. The game, like most RPGs, had its share of grinding, but I often found the encounters to be fun and not tedious. Mostly you ran around the main continent, searched for new party members, tried to follow the main plot and fought battle after battle after battle.