Chronological Donald 2 (2005)

This second collection of Donald cartoons collects pieces from 1942 to 1946. What I said about the first collection holds true. I like the animation, but I’m just not a big fan of Donald and his humor. What sticks out about this collection is the number of war influenced cartoons.

The creators went mostly the safe route and didn’t make it overly seriously or political, with one exception: Der Fuehrer’s Face. This depicts Donald dreaming himself to be living under the yoke of the Nazis himself, working in an ammunition factory. Like always, he’s not doing much of a good job. The ending is especially ambiguous, at least from my point of view, which sees Donal waking up in a room completely furnished with symbols of American patriotism.

I’m not sure whether that was merely an expression of how good it was to be American or a subtle dig at overt nationalism in a different form. Still, it’s the most fascinating and memorable short in the collection.