Battlestar Galactica S4 (2008-2009)

If there ever was a series as bipolar as the new Battlestar Galactica, I would like to know. Alternating between either complete crap or pure genius, it strung me along all to the end. I knew what was coming, but it still hit me in its mindnumbingly awfulness. I’m not talking about the God thing, it was there from the beginning and to be expected. “No more cities” I think those were the words that really broke the series for me. This abandonment of everything the series stood for in its best moments, this was downright evil. After all the things they survived and endured. Right there, they had the potential to begin anew and build a better civilization, one that had both machines and humans side by side as equals, one that knew about the past and could do better. Instead they abandoned being civilized itself, abandoned everything they had fought for so long and made sure that the cycle would go on.

Their decision was nothing else than mass suicide. What they gave up wasn’t creature comfort, it was what made them who they are. Without it, they essentially doomed themselves to live out short and brutal lives. Their culture, their memories of this conflict, it all would end with their generation. Even if stories would survive (doubtful), they would be rendered meaningless by the complete lack of points of reference.

Those who don’t remember the past are forced to repeat it. It’s cliched, but all to fitting. The colonials made sure that the cycle would go on. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a more nihilistic ending.

One last thing, here’s an interesting analysis of the God of the series. Makes Cavil look real nice in comparison.