The Incredible Hulk (1996-1997)

When I was younger I really liked the Hulk. There’s just something about a guy becoming an unstoppable creature of destruction when he’s frustrated that appealed to my younger self. This appeal has completely evaporated these days and I was completely bored by a main character who was half the time when he was on screen an imbecile. I don’t think it’s a bad show, quite effective as a Hulk show, really. It’s just that I ddn’t care for the main concept anymore.

Like so many animated Marvel shows of the same time period it lasted two seasons, with the second seasons quite different from the first. It starts with most people knowing that Bruce Banner is the Hulk and General Ross creating an initiative to hunt him down, while his daughter Betty tries to find a way to cure Bruce. It’s mostly Hulk meets the road movie concept, Banner on the run while pursued by Ross’s forces.

The second season let this aspect fall by the wayside and made She-Hulk part of the cast (they even went so far as retitling the show into The Incredible Hulk and She-Hulk). It’s also a lot lighter in tone, with She-Hulk mocking her cousins emo-style about his whole situation. Despite my quibbles with the whole Hulk concept, I actually liked the second season. In general it felt like there was more variety to it. It wasn’t perfect, still pretty silly and the writing was still just average, but overall more fun than the first season.

One aspect of the show I really liked was the Leader and his second in command, the Gargoyle, who openly and secretly mocked his boss. You have to admire a (mostly) well written henchmen.