Pushing Daisies S1 (2007)

Pushing Daisies is a show that I find more interesting than a show that I really like. Like Tim Burton did in his movies, it uses live action to create a world that feels slightly surreal, an effect more often generated with animation than live action. It’s also slightly detached, partly due to the surreal feel of the show, partly due to the narrator and how he comments on everything that happens, which also reminds you that you’re just watching a show and which stops you from feeling completely engrossed.

Since I must admit I find the overall narrative arc of the show and most of the characters and their little stories less than interesting, once the surreal feel of the show had lost its newness factor, my overall interest was waning till the end of the first season. I probably pass on the next one.