Kindred: The Embraced (1996)

Kindred: The Embrace is a reminder, a least to me, how much taste can change. When I first watched it nearly ten years ago, I thought I was quite well done. The second time around I had a hard time finishing it. It takes the already inherent pretentious elements of the Vampire: The Masquerade setting and cranks them up to soap opera levels. The acting is so overdone, the dialog so awful it makes watching this painful.

The only explanation how I ever perceived this as good was that there’s a time when your mind is conditioned to view the world and your place in it in a way that resonates with everything pretentious and über-dramatized. Brooding, dark characters that bear the pain of the whole word on their shoulders. Tragic and sad loves stories and all that crap. Most people were that teenager at one time or another. Most people thankfully outgrow that phase. Not that we get smarter or such. There are enough idiocies for grown-ups to believe in or apply to.