First King of Shannara (1996)

I’m not a fan of prequels, so it’s no wonder that I was wary of reading FKoS, especially after reading the Voyage of the Jerle Shannara, which I thought was quite disappointing. But FKoS had all the elements that made me a fan of Brooks’s fiction in the first place, a great plot which hits all the right notes, and characters who I liked and cared for.

It’s a typical heroic fantasy and a David versus Goliath plotline, but when done right this can be very entertaining. Brooks’s one problem is that his writing feels overdone at times, too many details that aren’t really that interesting and slow down the reading flow, like the extreme detailed account of the battle near the end of the book.

That said, it’s still an entertaining fantasy book that shouldn’t be missed by anyone who likes Brooks’s Shannara series or heroic fantasy in general.