Patterns (1989)

This is a steady collections in terms of quality. The problem at least for me is that most of those stories are more horror than SF, and since I was introduced to Cadigan’s writing through her SF novels, I expected that her short fiction was more of the same. I was wrong, these stories show another side of Cadigan’s writing. The problem was that they were at times too predictable and that Cadigan, in my opinion, needs space to develop appealing or interesting characters.

Only two stories, “Angel” and “Two”, made me care for the characters, the first story is about a unique alien and the second about a telepathic girl who searches for people like her. If you already read some of Cadigan’s stories and liked them, you might appreciate this collection, but if you expect something similar to her novels be warned.